• Alert:

    K-4 schools were the first grade span to offer four-day in-person instruction starting on January 5, 2021. The intermediate schools are the next to begin offering four-day in-person instruction on January 19, 2021. Grades 7-12 return to the Hybrid Model of Learning on January 19, 2021. Please visit the Coronavirus Update Center for more information about this plan and continue to check the daily screener, also found in the Coronavirus Update Center.

Close alert

Curriculum and Instruction

Grace Lani, Director of Curriculum and Instruction



Canon-McMillan School District utilizes the Pennsylvania Academic Standards, Assessment Anchors and Eligible Content as the foundation of the academic program, in addition to the newly adopted Common Core Standards.

Pennsylvania Core Standards

Pennsylvania Academic Standards

Standards describe what students should know and be able to do, as they increase in complexity and sophistication, as students progress through school. The Assessment Anchors clarify the standards assessed on the Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) and can be used by educators to help prepare their students for state assessments.

Canon-McMillan School District participates in Pennsylvania’s annual assessments to include the PSSA and Keystone Exams.  The PSSA (Pennsylvania System of School Assessment) is used to measure a student’s attainment of the academic standards.

Students in grades 3 through 8 are assessed in English Language Arts (ELA) and mathematics.

Students in grades 4 and 8 are assessed in science.

High school students are assessed via Keystone Exams in Algebra I, Literature and Biology

The Keystone Exams are designed to assess proficiency in various subjects upon completion of the curriculum. These exams are also one component of Pennsylvania’s proposed high school graduation requirements.